FAQ

1. How can I start to use the service?

Just click on the icon "App" and you will be automatically redirected to the main view of the application. In order to save your project you will have to register and create your proper account, which in a basic version is absolutely free.

2. Do I have to pay for using the site Capiwork.com?

The basic type of account offered on capiwork.com is free of charge. However, there is a possibility to purchase an option of Premium account offering more complex solutions. The service is provided for a limited time and a single fee covers one account created for the project manager. The single account offers a possibility of creating many projects with all the additional accounts for worker users.

3. How is data stored in the application protected, is it safe?

4. What is the numerical scale and scale of date? Which one should I chose?

Numerical scale consists of a sequence of numbers corresponding to the days, in which you can plan specific tasks and the course of the entire project. It is designed for the first stage of the planning process, when we do not know yet the date of the beginning of the project and the large part of the users executing the tasks. The numerical scale does not take into account neither the passing of the time nor the delays in the specific tasks.

The dates scale takes into consideration the current date and time. It should be used at a later stage of the project management. In order to use it you must know the date of the beginning of your project. By using the scale of dates you will be able to monitor the course of all the specific tasks. It is possible thanks to the system of automated updating of the reports performed by the users responsible for specific tasks. Any delay of a task can be seen in the diagram. Delays of all tasks which have an actual impact on other tasks in the network influence the diagram by changing the dates of their performance.

On every stage of your project you can change the scale by confirming the operation with your password. Please note that after the transition from the scale of dates to the numerical scale, the function of reporting will not be available.

5. How can I add, edit and delete tasks?

Adding tasks is done by clicking on the icon , close to the table of tasks situated on the left side of the main view page of the application. Then opens a form in which one can add data concerning the tasks. When you add a task, it appears in the diagram.

Task editing is done by clicking on the icon , close to the task name or double-clicking on the task on the diagram. Then opens a form containing the information previously saved, which you can edit and re-save.

You can also lengthen or shorten the duration of the task by holding and dragging the right edge of the chart bar located on the diagram. Additionally, the task transfer can be carried out by holding and dragging the left edge of the chart bar located on the diagram.

Deleting a task occurs after clicking on the icon , which can be found next to the task name on the task list. Task deleting has to be confirmed by selecting the right option in the pop up window ending the removal process.

6. How can I delete my project?

In the top menu, after moving the cursor to the project name, you can see a drop down menu, where you can find a link "Delete the project". After selecting this option a window asking you to enter your password appears, which is an option of authentication before carrying out the operation. If the entered password is correct, the project is deleted.

7. How can I add users to my project?

Adding users to the project is done by clicking on the icon at the top of the list of users on the right side of the main view of the application. A pop up window will appear asking you to give the full name of the user and his/her e-mail address. After the e-mail address is entered in the system, an invitation attached to the specific project is sent to the user. If the user accepts the invitation, he/she is automatically added to the project and specific tasks can be assigned. The tasks of each user will be marked in a different color in the diagram, making the diagram more transparent. When you click on the selected user in the diagram, tasks assigned to him will be featured.

8. Do users have access to the data of the entire project or only to the part of tasks assigned to them?

It depends on the project settings. As a manager you have the right of adjusting the options to the needs of the specific project. By moving the cursor on the name of the project located on the left top of the page and you can go to the options tab, and then to „Workers/Users privileges”.

Each user is treated separately, so you can allow (or not) the access to the reports of the progress in the project individually by choosing users from the list. You can also set the range of specific tasks seen by the users, starting with tasks assigned to them, then proceeding with those which have some kind of influence on their tasks and finally all the tasks of the project.

9. How can I send notifications to the users?

Users can be notified by clicking on the icon in the upper right side of the page. The green color of the envelope means that the notification was sent to the users. The change of the color into yellow will mean that the users were not notified about changes in the project. In this case, when logging out of the application a message will pop up telling you about the unsent notifications. The manager, however, has a possibility to notify the users at a later time.

10. What is the purpose of using the possibility of the reporting by users?

With this function it is possible to monitor the progress of the individual tasks. Linking tasks may cause a delay of the entire project as well as shorten its time. The users and tasks which cause a delay are precisely indicated, which can be used to increase the users' motivation. Thanks to reports showing tasks terminated before the due date, we have a possibility of notifying other users to start their tasks before time.

This function can have a positive impact on the effectiveness of project management improving its control.

11. What is a task buffer?

Task buffer is a form of the additional reserve of time given to a user to complete the task. The project manager determines its size and when it can be used. The user is informed of the estimated time of task completion without taking in consideration the time reserve. The buffer allows to plan the task, taking in consideration the predictable events and avoiding delays of the entire project.

12. What is the critical path and how can I determine it?

Critical path is a sequence of tasks which delays will consequently cause a delay of the entire project. Among all the possible combinations of the sequences of tasks, the critical path is the longest. The tasks being part of the critical path must be connected in the way that each successive task cannot begin without completion of the previous one.

Determination of the critical path is one of the functions of capiwork.com. When you enter all tasks of the project, you have a possibility of sorting them and determining the critical path. This function is activated by clicking on the icon . It is worth saying that the creation of the critical path, or even the arrangement of tasks, is not final. At the bottom of the page pops up a message giving you a possibility of change. You can always go back to the previous settings by clicking "no, discard all changes", as well as save the partial changes in form of sorting: "no, sort task only"

13. How can I restore forgotten username or password?

14. Is it possible to manage several projects at the same time?

Yes, there is such a possibility. When you log in to the application, the last project you used opens automatically. In the upper left side of the page there is an icon . By clicking on it, you can see a list of existing projects, from which you can select the project you wish to enter or create a completely new project.

15. What can I do if I want to create a new separate task, which will not be placed at the beginning of the project duration?

The function "Compose tasks" automatically moves the new created tasks to the beginning of the project. To avoid this situation you have to place another task before the task you want to stay independent, connect them and apply the function "Compose tasks".

The application will determine its earliest possible completion time.